Gumroad fee calculator

Enter a price to see what Gumroad’s direct fee and Discover rate leave, and how that compares with one Unlockable link.

Where you sell from

The region sets the currency and the fee schedule. Nothing is converted.

Options

Sale came through Gumroad Discover

You keep

$7.91

Gumroad fee
10% + $0.50 per direct sale through your profile or a direct link.
$1.50
Card processingBeing checked
≈ 2.9% + $0.30. Gumroad says card processing is charged separately; this rate is from an independent breakdown, not Gumroad’s page.
$0.59

Buyer pays

$10.00

All fees as % of price

20.9%

Unlockable at $10.00 — a direct link, not a marketplace

Buyer pays $11.00 · you keep $9.00

Fees checked on 19 October 2026. Sources: Gumroad pricing.

Fees change. Check the platform’s own pricing page before you rely on this.

How Gumroad fees work

Gumroad has two rates. A sale through your profile or a direct link costs 10% + $0.50. A sale Discover finds for you costs 30%. There is no monthly fee. Discover replaces the direct fee rather than adding to it; the calculator switches between them rather than stacking them.

Gumroad is a merchant of record. Since 1 January 2025 it has collected and remitted sales tax and VAT worldwide on sales through Gumroad. That is a real operational difference from a payment link, where you are the seller and the tax position is yours. The fee figures are from Gumroad’s pricing page, checked in October 2026.

One caveat: card processing is charged separately on direct sales. Gumroad says so, but does not publish the rate on its pricing page. The calculator uses an independent card estimate of about 2.9% + $0.30 for direct sales and marks that line as being checked, rather than presenting it as Gumroad’s own figure. Discover’s 30% is not stated to include processing either, so no processing is added to the Discover column.

Gumroad fees at common prices

Direct and Discover at the same price. The direct column includes the estimated card processing; the Discover column assumes the sale came through the marketplace and does not add processing, because Gumroad does not say whether it is included.

PriceDirect feeDirect keepDiscover feeDiscover keep
$5.00$1.45$3.55$1.50$3.50
$10.00$2.09$7.91$3.00$7.00
$25.00$4.03$20.97$7.50$17.50
$50.00$7.25$42.75$15.00$35.00

At $10 the direct fee is about $2.09 ($1.50 platform + $0.59 processing) and you keep $7.91. Discover takes $3.00 and leaves $7.00. At $50 the direct fee is about $7.25 and Discover is $15.00, so the gap grows with the price.

How to keep more of each sale

Keep Discover for buyers you would not otherwise reach. The 30% is high, but it buys distribution. If a sale is already yours, send the buyer through your own link and keep the 10% + $0.50 rate.

Price the fixed $0.50 into low-priced products. On a $5 sale, $0.50 is 10% before the percentage fee and processing. Gumroad works better at $15–$50 than at $3.

Put the product in one place. A bundle at $25 has one fixed fee and one checkout. Five $5 products have five fixed fees and five decisions for the buyer.

Use the tax handling if it saves you work. Gumroad’s merchant-of-record position is a genuine reason to pay its fee. If you already have an accountant and a tax process, that advantage is smaller.

Gumroad vs selling with one link

Gumroad is better when you want a storefront, a marketplace and someone else to handle sales tax. It is also better if you have several products and want a library rather than a single payment link. The Discover marketplace can bring buyers, though at 30%.

Unlockable is better when the product is one file, the buyer already knows you and you want the shortest route from a file to a payment. It has no marketplace, no memberships and is not a merchant of record — you handle your own tax. The buyer pays the 10% privacy and security fee on top and card processing is covered. It is not always cheaper, and it does not handle tax. See Unlockable’s pricing and the Gumroad alternatives comparison.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Gumroad take per sale?
Gumroad charges 10% + $0.50 on a sale through your profile or a direct link, and 30% when a new customer finds and buys through Gumroad Discover. There is no monthly fee. Card processing is charged separately on direct sales; Gumroad does not publish the rate, so the calculator uses the independent card estimate of about 2.9% + $0.30 and marks that line as being checked.
What is the difference between direct and Discover?
Direct is a sale you brought to Gumroad: 10% + $0.50, plus card processing. Discover is a sale Gumroad’s marketplace brought to you: 30%, with processing not stated to be included. Discover replaces the direct fee rather than adding to it. A $10 Discover sale leaves $7.00; a direct sale leaves about $7.91 after processing.
Does Gumroad handle sales tax?
Yes. Gumroad has been a merchant of record since 1 January 2025, so it collects and remits sales tax and VAT worldwide on sales through Gumroad. That is a real advantage over a payment link, where you are the seller and the tax position is yours.
Is Gumroad cheaper than Unlockable?
On a $10 direct sale, Gumroad leaves about $7.91 after card processing and Unlockable leaves $9.00. The buyer pays $11 on Unlockable, against $10 on Gumroad. On a Discover sale Gumroad leaves $7.00. Unlockable keeps the customer; Gumroad brings Discover and handles tax.
Why does the calculator mark card processing as being checked?
Gumroad says card processing is charged separately, but its pricing page does not publish the rate. The calculator uses an independent card estimate of about 2.9% + $0.30 and marks only that line as being checked, rather than presenting it as Gumroad’s own confirmed figure.

Sources